The 3 Branches of the Government

The United States has three main branches of government: executive, legislative, and judicial. Each branch shares power over certain areas such as foreign policy or law enforcement.

The federal government is a powerful entity in America, so it is impossible to fully understand how each branch works without studying the intricacies of American governance.

But first, we will briefly discuss the three branches of government.


Branches of the Government
Branches of the Government

Executive Branch

This branch consist of the President and Vice-President, these two people share responsibility for running the country. They make decisions about all matters that concern the country.

The President serves one term only while the vice president can serve twice. The President’s elect is by the Electoral College which consists of electors from each state who cast votes proportional to the number in that state.

In this way, popular vote but by states’ representation determines the election.

If no candidate receives a majority of electoral college votes, then the House of Representatives chooses between the top 2 candidates. Electors must be at least 25 years old, U.S. citizens residing in the U.S., and residents of the state they represent for life.

The president must also be a natural-born citizen.


There have been 3 presidents with these qualifications; Andrew Jackson (1767-1845), Abraham Lincoln (1809-1865), and Donald Trump (1946-present).

After the president leaves office, he becomes an ex-president. He may write books, teach courses, speak publicly, and visit other countries.

He cannot run again for public office unless he loses his presidential eligibility.

Legislative Branch

Congress makes the laws that govern the nation, it consists of two houses: the Senate and the House of Representatives.

Senators are representatives sent from individual states to Washington D.C. where there are 51 senators representing the 50 states plus Washington DC. Members of the House of Representatives come from 435 different congressional districts based on population.

One member represents each district, regardless of population. There are currently 1235 members of congress. This means that every person in the United States gets represented by 1 member of congress.

Congressional terms last 4 years though some can choose to serve longer than that. Most members of congress do not live in their districts but instead travel around the U.S. On average, members of congress spend 80% of their time travelling.

The most recent census found that the median age of a congressman was 57.

Judicial Branch

The final branch of the government is the judiciary. This branch interprets and enforces the laws passed by the legislative branch. The Supreme Court is the highest court in the land and rules on whether or not the laws pass constitutional muster.

The Supreme Court is made up of 9 Justices appointed by the president after consultation with the senate. The justices serve on the court for life unless they resign voluntarily or when impeachment takes place.

The Supreme Court hears cases from across the U.S. and oversees the constitutionality of acts of the legislature. Cases can either be filed against the government or by the government.

If a violation is found in the legislation, then the case is heard by the Supreme Court. If the legislation passes constitutional muster, then implementation takes place.


Judicial Branch

However, if the law is unconstitutional then it fails and does nothing. The Court is also responsible for making judicial appointments.

The President after consultation and advice from the senate chose the federal judges. The lower courts include district and appellate courts. Appointment of federal judges is for life.

Many of them retire before reaching retirement age because they get weary of hearing so many cases. Some jurisdictions have their own higher courts called tribunals or councils.

For example, California has its State Supreme Court and California Appeals Courts.


Each branch of the government has powers assigned to it by the Constitution. Those powers are specific to that branch.

The legislative branch writes bills, the executive branch executes those bills into law, and the judicial branch determines the constitutionality of actions taken by the other two branches.

Each government from all over the world consists of these three branches. Go online and search for casino games, play them and enjoy their huge bonuses on offer.

You can even play them in the comfort of your home without having to go to a land-based casino.